Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Students summer breaks

The Consular District that Consulate General Guayaquil has jurisdiction over geographic areas of Ecuador that follow two distinct academic calendars.  The Coastal universities, such as those in Guayas province, have their summer breaks scheduled between January 5 to May 5, and those in the Sierra, including the province of Azuay, takes their summer breaks between July 1 and September 30.  With regard to timing issues, in determining an applicant’s eligibility for the Summer Work/Travel Exchange Visitor program, we first establish which geographic area their school falls into and then we establish if the student’s proposed SWT travel plans fall within the above date ranges.